Foo Fighters – Wasting Light (2011)

Posted: April 1, 2011 in Music

I was never one of those Nirvana-maniacs that thought Nevermind was the greatest musical opus ever, but I have always had a surprising soft spot for Dave Grohl’s Foo Fighters, a band who have released some amazing singles over the years but, for me, never really made a full on complete album since 1997. In fact, lately it felt like the band was heading towards a softer, more Tom Petty-esque sound. So while I anticipated the release of the bands newest CD, titled “Wasting Light”, I was fully prepared to be a little let down.

The band’s seventh album was recorded in, of all places, Dave Grohl’s garage, entirely on analog tape, with no computers to play with. The result is probably the best album by the band since the aforementioned “The Colour & The Shape”, with the band rocking their little socks off. A good mix of mid and fast paced rockers, the album flows along effortlessly, always sounding like The Foo Fighters, but somehow giving off a feeling that there’s a freshness back in the band, giving the impression of a debut by an exciting young band, not one that formed fifteen years ago. Original member Pat Smear has rejoined the band, and the sound of the disc resonates back to a time when he was a full-fledged member.

I’ve always liked the heavier side of the band, and tracks such as the lead single “Rope” and “Burning Bridges” don’t disappoint, but even the ones that keep more in the middle like album closer “Walk” have an energy about them that is has you air drumming and screaming along with Grohl when he gets overexcited. There’s some great rhythm on display throughout, with Taylor Hawkins (continuing to establish himself as one of the better rock drummers out there) easily as aggressive and impassioned as Grohl himself can be. The frenetic “White Limo” is the chaotic type of jam that this author has missed from this band – and it is a most welcome return to form.

In some ways, “Wasting Light” could very well be dismissed as another Foo Fighters album, but I feel that would be doing it a disservice. This is most definitely an album to keep the long-time fans happy, but it’s also one that should tempt back those that have fallen by the wayside over the years, because it has everything that drew you towards the band in the first place. There’s no “My Hero” or “Everlong”, but there are plenty of tracks that you might just come to love in the same way.

An easy contender for rock album of the year.


01. Bridge Burning
02. Rope
03. Dear Rosemary
04. White Limo
05. Arlandria
06. These Days
07. Back & Forth
08. A Matter of Time
09. Miss the Misery
10. I Should Have Known
11. Walk

MySpace: Link | Wiki: Link | Buy on Amazon


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s