David Bowie – Toy (2001 Unreleased Album)

Posted: March 21, 2011 in Music

If Toy doesn’t look like a familiar title in your David Bowie discography, that’s because it isn’t. It’s never been released. It was intended to come out some 10 years ago – a set of re-recorded versions of his earliest works (including stuff from the Deram album and even further back!), combined with new material. But Bowie had problems with his label, Virgin, and would soon leave them, taking Toy with him. A select few tracks were released around the time of Bowie’s next record, 2002′s Heathen, mostly as B-side material.

Now, a decade later, someone – no clue who, as is always the case – has leaked the album. Now, for many reasons – not the least of which is the desire for new Bowie material – we’d of course love to see Toy come out as an official set. But until that happens – and who knows, this could be in someone’s possession because it’s going to be released sometime in the future – we’re going to give it to you. Great music should be heard.

Bowie has, for the last 40 years, been one of the most enigmatic performers of our time. His passion for the art swells in almost every second of every song he has penned and performed. His style has changed over the years – but these changes have gone against the flow. From the clean cut 60’s boy, to the outrageous Ziggy Stardust, to the electronic-infused Bowie, and everywhere in between.

This rarity is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity for any fan of Bowie, or fan of music in general. Granted, this will probably get re-mastered, re-packaged and released by a major label someday, which will make having heard this a moot point, but just in case that never happens, here’s Toy by David Bowie. A great sounding collection of songs that harbor back to the early days of one of music’s greatest legends. A Nutwork world premiere…

David Bowie, Toy (unreleased album – intended EMI/Virgin, 2001)

01 Uncle Floyd
02 Afraid
03 Baby Loves That Way
04 I Dig Everything
05 Conversation Piece
06 Let Me Sleep Beside You
07 Toy (Your Turn to Drive)
08 Hole in the Ground
09 Shadow Man
10 In the Heat of the Morning
11 You’ve Got a Habit of Leaving
12 Silly Boy Blue
13 Liza Jane
14 The London Boys

Wiki: Link

  1. Ben Christner says:

    Sounds very “bowie-ish” I like the way he approaches his work. He’s a true rocker for sure.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s