As Blood Runs Black – Instinct (2011)

Posted: March 12, 2011 in Music

As Blood Runs Black has had far too many personnel issues over the last four years. After their last album ‘Allegiance’ in 2006, the band has had more members than the Iraqi army. It’s a bit surprising, considering the circumstances, that their new release ‘Instinct’ ever saw the light of day (knock on wood – the album is sceduled for a March 22nd release date). The band – according to there MySpace page – is finally set and all personal, professional and musical differences set aside.

‘Allegiance’ was an amazing album – filled with the metalcore/deathcore sounds that ruled the mid 2000’s. Maybe it’s due to the time between releases, or maybe they finally figured out the right people to put in the band, but ‘Instinct’ sounds fresh and brutal compared to newer releases from bands of the same time/genre.

The vocals are growls and screams as required, but come off exceptionally accessible and are easy to understand to the discerning ear. Reminiscent of As I Lay Dying in style, the production is clean, the blast beats are fast and furious, and the guitars crunch like your favorite bowl of breakfast cereal.

Standout tracks are “Legacy,” “Angel City Gamble,” and “Divided” – any of which could be the soundtrack to the genre as a whole. That said the whole album is a success. Clean and crisp, with the required heaviness, Instinct is a good listen, and just misses being a great one. With any luck, this band will stay together and not make us wait as long for their next release, which has all the signs of being even more outstanding than this one.

01. Triumph
02. Legacy
03. Resist
04. Angel City Gamble
05. Reborn
06. Tribulations
07. Divided
08. King Of Thieves
09. In Honor
10. Instinct

MySpace: Link | Wiki: Link | Download (320kbps): Link


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s