Travis Barker – Give The Drummer Some (2011)

Posted: March 10, 2011 in Music

It’s no big secret that Blink-182 drummer Travis Barker has had a hard-on for rap music. Over the years he has made guest appearances on songs from many of the leaders of the rap world. He’s also had several live appearances with the likes of Li’l Wayne, Paul Wall and others – as well as countless club appearances playing DJ and pumping bass-heavy street rap in his set. He has openly discussed the music in public forums – claiming his appreciation and love for the art of rap.

When the drummer announced last year that he would be releasing his solo album “Give The Drummer Some,” and with it, inviting tons of guests from the rap and rock community – it came as no surprise to find this CD filled with all the big rap names. The RZA, Rick Ross, Snoop Dogg, Kid Cudi, and countless others flow their unique rhymes over Barker’s rock drums and guitars. Somewhat surprisingly, the majority of the album is rap. The balance confused me a bit, as I thought the drummer would showcase all avenues of his talent by including as many genres as possible. There are a few rock vocalists aboard (most notably Corey Taylor from Slipknot/Stone Sour), but make no mistake about it – this is a rap album.

Normally, I hate rap. With the exception of legendary acts such as the Beastie Boys, Run-DMC or Whodini, I find rap incredibly boring. Maybe it’s because I’m white, or due to the fact that I live in a rural community – whatever the case, rap (in it’s modern form) has been the only type of music I purposely avoid. It was for that reason that I was completely shocked that I liked this album.

The reason? It somehow seemed to work. There’s enough of Barker pounding away to keep the rock fans interested – and many of the songs – even the rap ones – have a nice & juicy rock guitar or bass to them. Even the rap wasn’t horrible. If these rappers are the cream-of-the-crop, I can understand why. The RZA rhyming over a funky Tom Morello (Rage Against The Machine) bass line on the album’s first single “Carry It” seemed all too natural, and much of the rest of the album had that same feel – like the planets had aligned perfectly.

Have no fear: I won’t be rushing down to the record store to pick up the catalogue of L’il Wayne or Ludacris anytime soon, but I will admit that when an artist like Barker puts something like this together, I’ll take a taste of the rock/rap hybrid. In fact, in the case of this album, I’ll finish the entire plate.

01 – Can a Drummer Get Some (featuring Lil Wayne, Rick Ross, Swizz Beatz & Game)
02 – If You Want To
03 – Carry It (featuring RZA, Raekwon & Tom Morello)
04 – Knockin (featuring Snoop Dogg, Ludacris, E-40 & Dev)
05 – Jump Down (featuring The Cool Kids)
06 – Devil’s Got a Hold of Me (featuring Slaughterhouse)
07 – Let’s Go (featuring Yelawolf, Twista, Busta Rhymes & Lil Jon)
08 – Saturday Night (featuring The Transplants & Slash)
09 – Cool Head (featuring Kid Cudi)
10 – Raw Shit (featuring Tech N9ne & Bun B)
11 – Just Chill (featuring Beanie Sigel, Bun B & Kobe)
12 – Beat Goes On (featuring Cypress Hill)
13 – On My Own (featuring Corey Taylor)
14 – Don’t Fuck With Me (featuring Paul Wall, Jay Rock & Kurupt)
15 – City of Dreams (featuring Clipse & Kobe)
16 – Misfits (featuring Steve Aoki)

MySpace: Link | Wiki: Link | Download (256kbps): Link


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s