Beastie Boys Anthology: The Sounds of Science (1999)

Posted: March 1, 2011 in Music

At the close of the ’90s, the Beastie Boys had only released five albums, which may not seem like enough music to provide the foundation for a double-disc retrospective. But between 1981 and 1999, they released countless B-sides, non-LP singles, and EPs, resulting in a sprawling discography ripe for a compilation.

So, in 1999, the Beasties released the two-disc compilation The Sounds of Science, which covers every incarnation of the band from Pollywog Stew to Hello Nasty. Inevitably, some well-known songs are missing — only three cuts from Licensed to Ill are here, and their breakthrough single “Rock Hard” had to be pulled when AC/DC refused permission for a sample. Ultimately, that doesn’t matter, since the set captures the spirit of the Beasties so well.

Usually, compilations that don’t follow chronological order are a little muddled, but The Sounds of Science actually benefits from its jumbled sequencing, since it emphasizes the band’s astonishing musical reach and consistency. After all, every album since Paul’s Boutique has followed a similarly unpredictable pattern, as the group moved from hip-hop to punk to funk to jazz.

What’s remarkable about The Sounds of Science is that it has all the obvious suspects, but since they’re rubbing singles with album tracks and B-sides like “Skills to Pay the Bills,” two outtakes from the abandoned country album, alternate versions of “Jimmy James” and “Three MC’s and One DJ,” Fatboy Slim’s brilliant remix of “Body Movin’,” goofs like the Biz Markie-sung cover of “Benny and the Jets,” and the excellent previously-unreleased single “Alive,” it all sounds fresh. There’s much more than hits here, but The Sounds of Science achieves something most anthologies don’t: it summarizes the attitude and spirit of the band, while offering some new revelations even for dedicated fans.

Disc One
1. “Beastie Boys”
2. “Slow and Low”
3. “Shake Your Rump”
4. “Gratitude”
5. “Skills to Pay the Bills”
6. “Root Down”
7. “Believe Me”
8. “Sure Shot”
9. “Body Movin'”
10. “Boomin’ Granny”
11. “Fight for Your Right”
12. “Country Mike’s Theme”
13. “Pass the Mic”
14. “Something’s Got to Give”
15. “Bodhisattva Vow”
16. “Sabrosa”
17. “Song for the Man”
18. “Soba Violence”
19. “Alive” (previously unreleased)
20. “Jimmy James” (Original Version)
21. “Three MC’s and One DJ” (Live Video Version)

Disc Two
1. “The Biz vs. The Nuge”
2. “Sabotage”
3. “Shadrach”
4. “Brass Monkey”
5. “Time for Livin'”
6. “Dub the Mic”
7. “Benny and the Jets” (previously unreleased)
8. “The Negotiation Limerick File”
9. “I Want Some”
10. “She’s on It”
11. “Son of Neckbone”
12. “Get It Together”
13. “Twenty Questions”
14. “Remote Control”
15. “Railroad Blues”
16. “Live Wire” (previously unreleased)
17. “So What’cha Want”
18. “Netty’s Girl”
19. “Egg Raid on Mojo”
20. “Hey Ladies”
21. “Intergalactic”

MySpace: Link | Wiki: Link | Download (320kbps): Link


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s