The Oblongs – The Complete Twisted Series

Posted: February 21, 2011 in TV & Webisodes

If you are suffering from sever insomnia on a Sunday night and happen to stumble across Cartoon Network’s Adult Swim, you just might have caught a glimpse of the short-lived animated series The Oblongs.

The show is loosely based on a series of characters introduced in creator Angus Oblong’s picture book entitled Creepy Susie and 13 Other Tragic Tales for Troubled Children.

This post-apocalyptic version of the Simpsons of sorts aired originally on The WB but failed to find an audience. On May 20, 2001, The WB aired Disfigured Debbie, the second episode produced, as the season finale, leaving five episodes unaired. Claiming the show to be “too edgy” and “strangely conceived”, the WB cancelled the show after two episodes.

In August 2002, the series found a home on Cartoon Network’s Adult Swim evening program schedule with new episodes, where it received high ratings when many fans discovered the series for the first time. In 2005, the show began airing reruns on TBS and was released on DVD.

Is the show weird? Of course it is – but backed by the voices of Will Ferrell (yes, THAT Will Ferrell) and Billy West (the voice of Futurama’s Philip J. Fry), it had much to offer in a comedic sense. It was adult-oriented, but had that “happy, glowing feeling” that made it (mostly) kid safe.

Perhaps that was the problem. With a twisted premise and relatively dark storylines, the show had too much of a Saturday morning look to it – which I’m sure confused certain viewers and network executives alike.

The good news (great news) is that Cartoon Network has announced intention to revive the series. There has been no definite commitment from Will Ferrell or Billy West on reprising their roles, but frankly the writing was what made the show an instant cult classic – not the comedic stylings of Ferrell.

Below are separate links to each (and every) Oblongs episode – for the avid fan, as well as for those that have never seen or heard of this amazing show. Each episode is a small download (>100M) and presented in .avi format. Click the episode name to begin download. You can thank me later. Enjoy.

Episode One: Misfit Love | Episode Two: Narcoleptic Scottie | Episode Three: Milo Interrupted
Episode Four: Bucketheads | Episode Five: Heroine Addict | Episode Six: The Golden Child
Episode Seven: Flush, Flush Sweet Helga | Episode Eight: Disfigured Debbie | Episode Nine: Pickles’ Little Amazons
Episode Ten: Get Off My Back | Episode Eleven: Please Be Genital | Episode 12: My Name Is Robby
Episode 13: Father Of The Bribe

Wiki: Link | IMDB: Link


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s