Deicide – To Hell With God (2011)

Posted: February 12, 2011 in Music

Deicide is a legendary death metal band probably best known for their early 90s releases and their satanic/anti-christian themes and imagery. Deicide’s sound has dramatically changed within their past few releases due to line-up changes and the departure of the Hoffman brothers. Since 2006’s “The Stench of Redemption” Jack Owen (Cannibal Corpse) and Ralph Santolla (Iced Earth, Obituary) have been contributing to Deicide and been recording leads and rhythm for Deicide’s albums.

“To Hell With God” is Deicide’s 10th studio album and features a more polished modern death metal sound. Modern death metal tremolo riffs with elements of technicality and soaring leads make up this albums guitars. Steve Asheim’s extreme style of drumming contributes nicely to the album with his fast and technical drumming. Glen Benton handling vocals and bass has a much more modern death metal sound and his vocals are not as low and much more different then previous albums.

Lyrics continue with the standard satanic/anti-christian theme of Deicide. Some lyrics off the album are dark and descriptive such as in the song “Into the Darknes You Go”. However some of the lyrics are hateful and slightly cheesy such as: “You Don’t mean shit to me, Watching your Jesus bleed” from the song “Hang in Agony Until You’re Dead”.

Glen Benton’s vocals in the album range from low gutturals to higher gutturals and screams. His vocals sound much more modern and polished. Glens vocals on this album make the lyrics actually easy to hear and understand for once.

Compared to Deicide’s previous effort “Til Death Do us Part” this album has much more better riffs and better overall songs. “To Hell With God” however is far from the amazing and intense early Deicide release’s like “Deicide” and “Legion”. The most impressive songs off the album are “To Hell With God”, “Witness of Death” and “Servant of the Enemy”.

What I love about this album is how some of the songs slowly grew on me and this album gets better with every listen. This album is definitely no “Legion” but it does have it’s moments and is a fairly decent release from death metal legends Deicide.

1. To Hell With God
2. Save Your
3. Witness of Death
4. Conviction
5. Empowered By Blasphemy
6. Angels Of Hell
7. Hang In Agony Until You’re Dead
8. Servant of the Enemy
9. Into The Darkness You Go
10. How Can You Call Yourself a God

MySpace: Link | Wiki: Link


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s