Murderdolls – Women and Children Last (2010)

Posted: February 9, 2011 in Music

On their scorching sophomore salvo, Women and Children Last, Murderdolls sound like men on a mission. That mission — to make heavy metal dirty and dangerous again —isn’t an easy one, but the dastardly duo of Wednesday 13 and Joey Jordison (Slipknot) accomplishes it with flying colors. Now, Women and Children Last isn’t for the politically correct or the faint of heart — it’s a dark record that doesn’t shy away from discussing sex, drugs, depression or death — but it rocks like a motherfucker in the process.

Opener “Chapel of Blood” is a deranged, fist-pumping anthem that precisely pairs Jordison’s Slayer-style groove riff and 13’s trademark rasp. “Nowhere” nods to Motley Crue with an arena-ready refrain and propulsive beat. On “Rock N Roll is all I Got,” 13 gives a generation that didn’t get to see Ozzy snort ants a real metal slogan: “I got drugs to take, I got shit to break, I got bitches when I need.” That funny and fiery line could’ve come out of Lil Wayne or Axl Rose’s mouth, but we get it from the Murderdolls mainman. Women and Children Last finds Jordison at the top of his songwriting game, as well. “My Dark Place Alone” infuses the grinding metallic sludge with an industrial aspect, while an infectious chorus takes over mid-song. “Hello, Goodbye, Die” is one last send-off to Hell with punk-y fretwork and a final scream.

In a day and age where Kings of Leon are considered “rock,” Women and Children Last might just be the education in filth and reminder in sleaze that everyone needs.

01 – The World According To Revenge
02 – Chapel Of Blood
03 – Bored ‘Til Death
04 – Drug Me To Hell
05 – Nowhere
06 – Summertime Suicide
07 – Death Valley Superstars
08 – My Dark Place Alone
09 – Blood Stained Valentine
10 – Pieces Of You
11 – Homicide Drive
12 – Rock N’ Roll Is All I Got
13 – Nothing’s Gonna Be Alright
14 – Whatever You Got, I’m Against It
15 – Hello, Goodbye, Die
16 – Motherfucker See, Motherfucker Do
17 – The Funeral Ball
18 – A Moment Of Violence

MySpace: Link | Wiki: Link | Download (320kbps): Link


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s