Motorhead – The World Is Yours (2011)

Posted: February 6, 2011 in Music

Much as I love Lemmy, for the past decade and change, I have come to regard each new Motorhead album as a bit of an exercise in futility. This, of course, is based on the fact that Lemmy’s following is a devoted one, to say the least, and that as long as Lemmy and the boys meet the minimum requirements of what a Motorhead album should sound like, business will continue as usual.

And lets face it, for as long as any of us have been around, Lemmy’s been a fixture on the metal scene. Hell, he very well may have invented heavy metal for all I know. No other human on this planet embodies the essence, the attitude, and the smell of heavy fucking metal more than Ian “Lemmy” Kilmister. The guy’s got nothing to prove. He’s Lemmy.
And I guess that’s the main problem: having nothing to prove seems to have turned Motorhead into quite the predictable heavy metal machine.

So it was with some trepidation that I first listened to the band’s twentieth studio album, The World Is Yours, which came out January 25 from Motorhead Music/EMI.

I’m glad I did because the new album is a great motherfucking record.

Sure, Lemmy’s vocal range is limited to a one-note bark, but who the hell cares when the tunes rock so convincingly? Seriously, this record explodes from start to finish with nary a clunker in the bunch, yet covers a lot of ground musically. The band recognizes the benefit of mixing up the tempos and unleashing a plethora of tasty riffs. It’d be nice to be able to talk about the artistry of the record, the sheer genius unleashed within the grooves – but Motorhead aren’t that sort of band and this is not that sort of record.

Produced by Cameron Webb, who has manned the boards for the last four studio albums, The World Is Yours is comprised of deceptively simple elements, yet still manages to show that the union between producer and band is really beginning to hit its stride.

Of course, “I Know How To Die” is easily one of the best tunes Motorhead has recorded in their entire career, with “Born To Lose” not far behind. Both have no doubt made fine additions to the band’s current live set lists and prove quite astoundingly that nobody paints in shades of black better than Lemmy & Company.


01 – Born To Lose
02 – I Know How To Die
03 – Get Back In Line
04 – Devils In My Hand
05 – Rock N Roll Music
06 – Waiting For The Snake
07 – Brotherhood Of Man
08 – Outlaw
09 – I Know What You Need
10 – Bye Bye Bitch Bye Bye

MySpace: Link | Wiki: Link | Download (320kbps): Link


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s