Cradle of Filth – Darkly Darkly Venus Aversa (2010)

Posted: February 6, 2011 in Music

“Darkly, Darkly Venus Aversa,” while ever so slightly different from the other Cradle of Filth albums, is just as eclectic and ranging as ever. Now, let me be clear; the album is all metal through and through, and puts definition to the term “extreme metal.” It’s the mixing of sounds and ominous themes with blast beats and high-handed guitar that gives the album a sense of being just plain different. It’s appropriate that an album telling the story of the fabled character Lilith should range from placid grace to frenetic vehemence.

More so than any other band in the genre, Cradle of Filth has never been afraid to blend seemingly disjointed elements into, well, maybe something short of a homogenous whole, but at least a cohesive one. The combination of orchestra, chorus, keyboard, buzzsaw guitar, loud percussion and Dani Filth’s assertive vocals has again been sent through the grinder, and the pieces that remain compose the bulk of the album.

The piano/keyboard is the practically the linchpin of “Darkly, Darkly Venus Aversa.” While in sharp contrast to the bulk of the album’s fare, its clean sound and clear tones lend the album just the right shade of comfortable recognition that prevents the songs from becoming too dense.

Cradle of Filth is at their best, however, during the clarion moments when the brakes are applied ever so slightly. In those parts, the riffs become bold, the percussion is allowed to settle into a groove and all the pieces come together to stress a single section or phrase.

As with most extreme metal and all Cradle of Filth, “Darkly, Darkly Venus Aversa” is an album for a discerning ear with the patience to take apart and appreciate its layers. The album is in no way a beginner’s stepping stone into extreme metal. It is a well-crafted, rewarding album that explores the corners of metal’s potential, and isn’t afraid to take a calculated risk. Not everything works, but the majority comes together and lends the album a unique character. If you possess the proper chops and have an appreciation for a dark, opulent flair, “Darkly, Darkly Venus Aversa” can be a rich experience.


01 – The Cult of Venus Aversa
02 – One Foul Step From the Abyss
03 – The Nun with the Astral Habit
04 – Church of the Sacred Heart
05 – The Persecution Song
06 – Decieving Eyes
07 – Lilith Immaculate
08 – The Spawn of Love and War
09 – Harlot on a Pedestal
10 – Forgive Me Father (I Have Sinned)
11 – Beyond Eleventh Hour
01 – Beast of Extermination
02 – Truth & Agony
03 – Mistress From the Sucking Pit
04 – Behind the Jagged Mountains

MySpace: Link | Wiki: Link


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s