Megadeth – Endgame (2009)

Posted: February 2, 2011 in Music

Megadeth is one of my favorite bands of all times. Albums like “Peace Sells…”, “Rust In Peace”, “Countdown To Extinction” and “Youthanasia” in my opinion are diamonds of thrash metal. On the other hand, their last couple of albums were good but nothing more. Because of this, I was very cautious before listening their new album “Endgame”.

Thankfully my reservations were quickly put to rest. “Endgame” is the best album the band has released since “Countdown To Extinction” and is definitely the heaviest since “Rust In Peace”. Songs like “This Day We Fight” and “1320” sound like they come straight from the “Rust In Peace” era. Musically the band tries almost everything from thrash riffs and fast-technical solos to acoustic parts, which is nothing all that new to the band. What really stood out for me were the quality and the quantity of the guitar solos. I haven’t heard so many solos since “Rust In Peace” and here I must give credit to Chris Broderick a great guitar player that is fast and technical at the same time and managed in such a short time to bond with Dave Mustaine. It really reminded me of the long-lost Friedman-Mustaine. The lyrics – great as always – move around politics, war and personal issues. Mustaine delivers the best vocal we’ve witnessed in a long time, and it does nothing but shine on this gem.

All 11 tracks are fantastic, but the ones that stand out are “This Day We Fight”, “44 Minutes”, “Endgame” and “The Right To Go Insane”. Megadeth created a noteworthy album this time around, and it couldn’t have come at a better time. Definitely one of the best albums of 2009.

01. Dialectic Chaos
02. This Day We Fight!
03. 44 Minutes
04. 1,320
05. Bite The Hand That Feeds
06. Bodies Left Behind
07. Endgame
08. The Hardest Part Of Letting Go… Sealed With A Kiss
09. Headcrusher
10. How The Story Ends
11. The Right To Go Insane

MySpace: Link | Wiki: Link | Download (320kbps): Link


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s