Due Date (2011)

Posted: January 31, 2011 in Movies

I’m going to cut straight to the chase here.

I liked Zach Galifianakis’ early stuff better than what he’s doing now. I know that makes me sound like an anti-conformist obnoxious asshole, but it’s true: his Comedy Central specials and stand-up performances are funny because they’re strange, weird, and nonsensical. Even in his first collaboration with director Todd Phillips, The Hangover (which I thought was funny but wildly overrated), he seemed a bit neutered by the script and that trend continues with Due Date. He’s funny here, but in a very controlled sort of way; in his own comedy, he can bypass that overwhelming feeling of limitation and cut straight to the heart of the weird randomness that has so far defined him as a comedian.

As for Robert Downey Jr., he’s always been one of my favorite actors. His re-birth after his much-publicized fall from grace has been both inspiring and triumphant. When Robert Downey, Jr. called Due Date “the second greatest movie [he’s] ever done,” I foolishly allowed my expectations to rise. Perhaps Downey truly believes that, as each person is entitled to his or her opinion. I’m not going to call him a liar and say he was just drumming up publicity for his new movie, because I have no right to do so (nor any proof). But I’m guessing you’ll be hard pressed to find even a handful of people who agree that this is the second best movie Downey has ever made. I actually believe it’s nowhere close, and I could name probably six or seven other things that more adequately fit that description. (For the record, I would say the first Iron Man is the second best movie he’s made, right behind Less Than Zero.)

Maybe it reminded me too much of Planes, Trains and Automobiles – maybe I wasn’t in the right frame of mind. This one just didn’t work for me. Lofty expectations and my desire for the old Galifanakis had it torpedoed from the get go, so I’ll let you be the judge…

IMBD: Link | Wiki: Link | Download (AVI ripped from BluRay): Here

Leave a Reply

